Wednesday, October 1, 2008

Dude Lit

As you may know, we have a selection of pamphlets by the front desk that offer reading suggestions. One of the themes is 'Chick Lit' - light, humorous novels featuring (usually) urban single women between the ages of 25 and 40 with plots that highlight romance, careers and friendships. (I know there are many exceptions and subgenres here, but this is a short and sweet definition). A library visitor remarked that she was offended by the use of the word 'chick' and the absence of any equivalent list for men.
So I started poking around, trying to come up with titles that would fit the male version of Chick Lit (which is actually a Library of Congress-sanctioned subject heading). Based on my personal experience, books that are popular with male readers include history, science fiction and noir thrillers. However, I wouldn't consider those books as humorous beach reading. We do have two new books that might possibly fit my new burgeoning 'Dude Lit' reading list:
Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse, by Victor Gischler, is funny post-apocalyptic fiction (if such a thing exists). An insurance salesman hiding out in the hills of Tennessee escapes annihilation, only to find that future of civilization is being protected by a chain of strip clubs. A weird roadtrip, oddball characters and a thundering showdown between rival factions all keep the plot bouncing along. Full of cartoon violence and sardonic humor, this is not for the 'gentle read' crowd.
Stalking the Vampire: a fable of tonight, by Mike Resnick, is actually the second book in the John Justin Mallory series (following Stalking the Unicorn). A detective mystery set in an alternate Manhattan populated by vampires, dragons and goblins - not that outlandish a concept - Stalking blends humor, pulp fiction, and supernatural beings. For fans of Mickey Spillane and Terry Pratchett.
I plan on keeping my eyes open in the future for more of these potential candidates for the 'Dude Lit' reading list.

1 comment:

Jesse said...

Great choices! Also, for the edgy side of Dude Lit, try Douglas Coupland or pretty much anything Chuck Palahniuk (strong stomach required). And Mike Gayle and Jonathan Tropper fit in the Nick Hornby vein. And check out Chip Kidd's The Learners, which you have in audio book format.